## **Indian Society for Medical Statistics**

Minutes of the General Body (GB) Meeting, held on 1st November 2018

during 36<sup>th</sup> National Annual Conference at NIMHANS, Bengaluru.

# **ISMS General Body meeting agenda - 2018**

Thursday, November 1, 2018 Time 5:00 PM to 6:00PM

Venue: Dept of Biostatistics, NIMHANS, Bengaluru

- 1. Welcome by President
- 2. Mourning on the demise of ISMS members

Prof.T. Krishnan Dr.I M S Lamba

- 3. Approval of minutes of the 2017 GC & GB meetings
- 4. Report of General Secretary and general updates from GC meeting
- 5. Report of Treasurer
- 6. Report of Bulletin Editor
- 7. Report of Web co-ordinator
- 8. Award committee recommendations with Governing council approval
- 9. Nomination and search committee recommendations with approval of Governing council
- 10. Proposal for the 2019 annual conference
- 11. Any other point with the permission of the chair
- 12. Vote of thanks by General Secretary
- 1. Welcome

President, Prof. CM Pandey, welcomed the members, attending the meeting and extended a cordial welcome to the newly elected President Elect, Dr.P.Venkatesan and GC members. President also extended his gratitude to the retiring members for their active contribution to the development of the society.

## 2. Mourning on the demise of members

The Society lost its two important members during the year 2018.

Professor T Krishnan, Past Editor and President of the Society and Dr. IMS Lamba, Past General Secretary. The GB observed two minutes silence in respect to these members and prayed for their soul to rest in peace.

Subsequently General Secretary, Prof. N Sreekumaran Nair took over agenda items one by one, as enlisted above. The General Secretary thanked the Organizing Team for hosting the 36<sup>th</sup> ISMS Annual Conference 2018.

## 3. Confirmation of the Minutes of the Previous GC & GB Meetings 2017

The GB unanimously accepted and approved minutes of the GC and GB meetings, held on 1<sup>st</sup> & 3<sup>rd</sup> November 2017 respectively at SGPGIMS, Lucknow.

### 4. Report of the General Secretary

Prof. N. Sreekumaran Nair presented report of various activities, undertaken by the Society during the year 2018. Copies of the report were also circulated among the members. Salient features of the report were - election of President Elect, planning and implementation of 2018 ISMS Conference, streamlining communications to the members, enrollment of new members, exploring location for 2019 Annual conference, planning students and young biostatisticians meet during the 2018 ISMS Conference and formation of regional groups. General Secretary also briefed about the plan of activities for 2019.

GB approved the report, presented by General Secretary.

### 5. Report of the Treasurer

Dr. B Binukumar, Treasurer, presented the audited report of the Society for the financial year 2017-2018. Copies of the report were also circulated among the members. Further, he presented the details of various deposits and current account balance as on 31<sup>st</sup> October 2018. GB approved the report of the Treasurer.

### 6. Report of the Editor

Dr.K. Thennarasu, ISMS Bulletin Editor, presented his report He explained his plan for printing future issues.

### 7. Report of the Web Coordinator

Web Coordinator, Prof. L. Jeyaseelan presented his report. He emphasized that web updating was smooth throughout the year and explained the details about the process of President Elect's election. The GB appreciated the help of Web Coordinator Prof .Jeyaseelan and his team for the smooth conduct of the election of President Elect.

#### 8. FSMS fellowship

President Prof.CM Pandey, Chair of ISMS Fellowship Committee informed the decision of FSMS Committee to award Fellowship to the following nominees and its approval by GC:

- i) Professor .Madhulekha Bhattacharya, New Delhi.
- ii) Professor K P Singh, USA.

President also presented the Award Committee recommendations which has been approved by the Governing Council. Names of the award winners for different categories are given below:

#### 1. Smt. Suraj Kali Jain Award

Dr. Jagathanath Krishna, RCC, Trivandrum..

#### 2. Prof. B.G. Prasad Award

No one qualified for the Award.

#### 3. Prof. K.R. Sundaram Young Research Scholar Award

Dr. Radhika K .

#### 4. Smt. Saroj Shukla Travel Scholarship

Ms.Mona Pathak

After some deliberations, GB approved all these recommendations.

#### 9. Report of the Nominating and Search Committee

## i. Search Committee Recommendations 2018

Names identified by the Search Committee for conferment of various awards (falling under this category) with approval from GC

S. no.	Name of the Award	Name of an ISMS Member, identified by the Committee	Award to be presented
1.	Lifetime Achievement Award	Professor V G Kaliaperumal Bangalore	In the year 2018
2.	Professor S K Bhattacharya Oration	Professor Abhay Indrayan NOIDA / Delhi	In the year 2019
3.	Smt. Ramrati Lalima Sahai Award	Professor D K Subbakrishna Bangalore	In the year 2019
4.	Professor A Indrayan Travel Grant	Professor Ajit Sahai, Lucknow	In the year 2018

# ii. Recommendations of the Nominating Committee for One Post of President–Elect in 2018

This year following 3 valid nominations were received for the post of President Elect.

1. Dr V K Srivastava,

FI's AM Institute of Medical Sciences, Lucknow

2. Dr S N Dwivedi

AIIMS, New Delhi

3. Dr L Jeyaseelan

CMC Vellore

## Nominating Committee Recommendations

After long deliberations and continuous effort to have a consensus candidate, it seems to be that election is inevitable and hence as usual practice the President was requested to nominate members to conduct election of president elect. President nominated the following esteemed members to conduct the election of president elect.

Dr. Anilkumar, JALMA, Agra

Dr. V S Yadav, JALMA, Agra

Dr.Ajit Mukherjee, NIMS, New Delhi

# i) <u>Recommendations of the Nominating Committee</u>

# for 3 posts of Governing Council Member

The Committee recommended and GC approved the following 3 nominees for Governing Council Member during 2019 - 2021.

- 1. Dr S K Singh KGMU, Lucknow.
- Dr D P Singh Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai.
- 3. Dr M Kalaivani AIIMS, New Delhi.

# 10. Proposal for the Annual Conference during 2019

AIIMS Patna has been approved as the venue for the 2019 Annual conference of the society.

## **11.** Any other point with the permission of the chair

The Governing council discussed about forming a committee to take up Biostatistics faculty issues in Medical colleges across India with MCI high power committee. GC nominated and GB approved the following members to form the committee and take up the issue

Prof.B L Verma, Chairman

Prof V Srinivas Pro R M Pandey Prof Ajit Sahai Prof Subhakrisha Dr.Vishnuvardhan Rao

Ex officio members

Dr. P.Venkatesan, President, ISMS Prof N.Sreekumaran Nair, General Secretary, ISMS

#### 12. Vote of thanks by General Secretary

General Secretary proposed the vote of thanks. On behalf of all members of ISMS, special acknowledgement was mentioned about the smooth conduct of election by election officers namely Dr. Ajit Sahai, Dr.K R Sundaram and Dr.Anilkumar.

Sin N.

President Dated: 24-04-19

**General Secretary**